Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LUBUNTU Where is the device manger ?

Beans

LUBUNTU Where is the device manger ?

I am new to Ubuntu. Where is the device manager for I see all device drivers installed ?

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: LUBUNTU Where is the device manger ?

You haven't provided your release details, so I cannot know if you're using legacy Lubuntu using LXDE, or modern Lubuntu using LXQt.

To see if additional drivers are available on your system, use Software Sources, found in the Lubuntu manual at https://manual.lubuntu.me/stable/4/4...e_sources.html (scroll down to the Proprietary Drivers section).

Sorry I don't know what you mean by device manager, but if I wanted to look at how my hardware was recognized, I'd use a command.

Code:
    sudo lshw
    will list your hardware (`sudo` elevates privileges as my user account won't be able to get detailed results without raised privileges). If I wanted to limit the results to a specific class, for example 'video' hardware only, I'd use

Code:
    sudo lshw -C video
    There are GUI tools that will display that detail too, but personally I find commands faster (paging or searching the result as appropriate).

Beans

My Lubuntu is the latest version.
    Have any tool in Linux that look and work how Windows Device Manager in view devices and install drivers ?
    Thanks for reply.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Please tell me what you mean by the latest version.

The last two people who told me they were using the latest version of Lubuntu, were in fact using a End of Life release of Lubuntu, but because they didn't download it from a Lubuntu, or Ubuntu site, didn't realize they had installed a EOL version of Lubuntu, despite the web site they downloaded it from stating it was the latest.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by aug7744 View Post