Thread: Snap folders appear on their own

Beans

Snap folders appear on their own

Hi I have been using Ubuntu for a few months now, and I noticed recently that a couple of apps - Libreoffice and Opera - suddenly created a new folder each in Snap (they have number labels).

For example, Opera usually has under Home >> Snap >> Opera >> 81, common and current. But a new folder 83 appeared.
    Libreoffice's usual 180 or 183 gained a friend.

I did not update or upgrade, and when I reformatted and reinstalled the apps from the App Store they disappeared/went back to the usual.

I am concerned if this means someone had gained root access, added a file and changed permissions on the file, and how they would do it.

Beans

Re: Snap folders appear on their own

There's nothing wrong. You had snap versions of LibreOffice and Opera. When you reformatted and reinstalled them, you installed the .deb versions.

There is a folder in ~/snap for every snap application.

Code:
    dmn@Sydney-vm:~/snap$ tree
    ├── atari800-jz
    │** ├── 1
    │** ├── common
    │** └── current -> 1
    ├── chromium
    │** ├── 1193
    │** ├── 1213
    │** ├── common
    │** └── current -> 1213
    ├── gnome-calculator
    │** └── current -> 730
    ├── gnome-characters
    │** └── current -> 399
    ├── libreoffice
    │** ├── 180
    │** ├── 183
    │** ├── common
    │** └── current -> 183
    └── snap-store
        ├── 415
        ├── common
        └── current -> 415

19 directories, 3 files
    A folder exists for each snap application with subfolders corresponding to each revision number that's installed. The system keeps at most two revisions, with a symbolic link to the currently used one. The numbered folders are (at the moment) empty on my system. The applications themselves are not stored here.

Beans

Re: Snap folders appear on their own