Thread: Installing ubuntu server and configuring it to be a home media and a web server

Beans

Question Installing ubuntu server and configuring it to be a home media and a web server

Hello!

I've found my uncle's old computer (from around 2010) hanging around in our garage. I was thinking on cleaning it and making it into a home server for myself and the family, so it could host movies and stuff, also it could localhost websites.

I've never worked with any server before so I'm a bit afraid and that's why I came here for instructions. I know I should download and install ubuntu server but first of all which version would be compatible with this old PC?
    Then I have no idea how to do the hosting, I guess I'll have to make it into a static IP, I could do that for my own computer from the router based on it's MAC adress, I gues it'll work the same with the server?

Then what software do I use and how do I set it up? ATM I use plex media server from my computer and I like it so far so I'd love to use the same on my linux server. For the webhosting I have no idea?

Also, how could I connect to it to see and use it's CLI so I don't have to plug a monitor to it every time I want to do something?

Thank you for your help in advance!
    Last edited by 66gramms; July 8th, 2020 at 10:57 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Installing ubuntu server and configuring it to be a home media and a web server

Thread moved to Server Platforms for a better fit

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Installing ubuntu server and configuring it to be a home media and a web server

You question is much to broad.

Quote Originally Posted by 66gramms View Post
    I've never worked with any server before so I'm a bit afraid and that's why I came here for instructions. I know I should download and install ubuntu server but first of all which version would be compatible with this old PC?