Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to Lubuntu, question about docx and increasing size of things

Beans

New to Lubuntu, question about docx and increasing size of things

Hello all!
    First of all, I am glad I finally got to have a Lubuntu partition on my pc. My intention is to primarly use it for university work and other important stuff.
    I am slowly learning new things (I installed it yesterday so I am a true beginner), but I have a pair of questions, the answer of which I struggle to find on the internet

1 about LibreOffice: I updated a curriculum vitae, the original file was docx, and Libreoffice saved it as a ODS or something. Is there a way to save it as a docx? Problem is not for me, just for those times I will have to send something to my university teacher, and I want to avoid compatibility issues with his corrections or something similar. Also, I use mendeley, I noticed it has a "Export MS Word Compatible", but when I use it, I get an archive, not a wordfile.
    Finally about LibreOffice, I got stuck for a moment with the pdf export problem, I found a solution that, I think, downgraded Libreoffice (it was a sudo purge libreoffice thing), is it possible? The save windows for example was very different after the purge.

2 things are a little too small. Nothing terrible but expecially when clicking small icons, or write in small spaces is sometimes difficult. For some reason, firefox address bar is a little bigger and just fine. There are lots of settings to tweak in, where do I find those about the display?

3 I can't wait to learn how to personalize everything, where should I start?

Thank you for the future help, sorry if my post is not in the right place or if it is redundant

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: New to Lubuntu, question about docx and increasing size of things

Welcome.

You can save in any format you want including the original docx, just pay attention to the saving dialog.