Thread: Can't log in

Beans

Question Can't log in

I have just installed Ubuntu 20-04 as a dual boot option on my Windows PC. I am new to Ubuntu but used Unix many years ago. During installation I gave my name in the form "John E Smith" and selected "jesmith" as my username. I then clicked on "Log-in Automatically" but it still needed a password before I could move on so I supplied one - let's say it was "Earw1g3*". Having concluded the installation I then clicked restart and, eventually, the grub menu came up and I selected Ubuntu.

At this point I was presented with a login screen, with the name "John E Smith" showing and a box to enter the password. Having asked for automatic login I tried ignoring the password and just pressing return but nothing happened. I then tried entering "Earwig3" in the password box (with the eye open) but, again, nothing happened. I then clicked on "name not shown" (or something like that) and entered the name "jesmith" and the password but, yet again, nothing happened. I have run out of ideas so can anyone tell me how to negotiate this impasse please?

Beans

Re: Can't log in

If you press CTRL + ALT + F1 and log in there is it OK? If so then run:
    Code:
    passwd
    Then change your password (You won't get any feedback as you type). You can then run:
    Code:
    sudo reboot
    Then try logging in with the new password (If autologin fails). If you cannot log in after pressing CTRL + ALT + F1 then you can use this guide:
    https://psychocats.net/ubuntu/resetpassword

You can reset your password in root recovery mode

Beans