Thread: UUID only 8 digits? is this normal?

Beans

Question UUID only 8 digits? is this normal?

Hello all. I am very new to Linux and not very computer literate, so please be kind

I have been trying to change my Steam library folder to my 2TB hard disk, but having all kinds of troubles.

First of all, when I try to find my drive UUID, it is only 8 digits. I kind of understand that it has something to do with being a FAT type, but other than that I have no idea. I see that another drive (sda1) is also type VFAT but has the correct number of UUID digits.
    I also see that in front of my 2TB disk (sdb) it says "LABEL_FATBOOT".

So I ask, is it normal that my disk only has an 8 digit UUID and if not, how can I change it to an acceptable UUID?

https://imgur.com/4XU4auu

Thank you.

P.s. tried to insert an image on here, uploaded it up to imgur.com and pasted the url into the add image url field but it doesn't show here, any idea why?

Siggi

Beans

Re: UUID only 8 digits? is this normal?

First, be clear that in Linux sda1 is a partition, not a disk (or drive).
    In the line for sda1:
    UUID= is an identifier for the file system on that partition.
    PARTUUID= is an identifier for the actual partition sda1.

The identifier for disk sdb is for the filesystem on the disk. Apparently, it has no partitions. 8 digits is normal for that kind of file system. It's recommended you should partition that disk and format partitions to be used before using it with Linux. Your files and folders should be on partitions.

As to the image, I think you can only display an image uploaded to the forum.

Beans

Oh, I see. That explains a lot.

I will try to partition and format the disk, thank you for your help

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Quote Originally Posted by siggigretars View Post

P.s. tried to insert an image on here, uploaded it up to imgur.com and pasted the url into the add image url field but it doesn't show here, any idea why?