Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laptop overheating (while not at all on Windows 8)

Beans

Question Laptop overheating (while not at all on Windows 8)

Hello,

I hate to say that, but my laptop almost doesn't heat up at all when I'm using Windows 8. While with Kubuntu (or even lighter Linux distros), it does heat up A LOT. Even with an external computer fan, it is still too hot. I read somewhere that it could be a drivers problem. I am no professional at all.

I tried tlp (several months ago) but I saw no changes at all.

I'm using an HP ENVY dv6.

Anyone knows an efficient way to reduce overheating?

Thanks
    Last edited by stargazer4587; 2 Weeks Ago at 06:06 AM. Reason: replaced Windows 7 by Windows 8

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Laptop overheating (while not at all on Windows 7)

Welcome.

The HP Envy line typically has Nvidia graphics.
    If you're using the default open-source driver which is inadequate for most recent mobile Nvidia chips then of course it'll be hotter then it should because it's mostly working on the CPU for tasks that otherwise would be offloaded to the GPU had it the proper drivers running.

And it should be mentioned that typically the HP Envy line was sold with Windows 8 or newer so the Windows 7 was a downgrade? Very likely Windows 7 can't squeeze the 100% performance from that hardware so there's no point in comparing it with a more recent Ubuntu or derivatives. Also Windows 7 is out of support for years now, it's dangerous if used online and generally shouldn't be used under no pretext. If you want to keep using Windows then upgrade to Windows 10 ASAP.