Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Beans
    49

    20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

    hi.

    so i did an apt update and apt upgrade just now on my development machine to see if that would bring the kate editor startup option back into my system menu. it didn't, btw. and now i'm also stuck on just 1 screen at 1024x768 resolution, while i had two 4K monitors running at 4K resolution each, just before the upgrade.

    can someone please help me fix this? it's embarassing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Beans
    49
    Code:
    root@crow:~# apt update
    Hit:1 http://nl.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal InRelease
    Hit:2 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb stable InRelease                   
    Hit:3 http://nl.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-updates InRelease              
    Hit:4 http://nl.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-backports InRelease            
    Ign:5 https://apache.bintray.com/couchdb-deb focal InRelease                   
    Get:6 https://apache.bintray.com/couchdb-deb focal Release [1.838 B]           
    Hit:7 http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu focal-security InRelease
    Fetched 1.838 B in 0s (4.156 B/s)
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    1 package can be upgraded. Run 'apt list --upgradable' to see it.

    Code:
    root@crow:~# apt install nvidia-driver-440
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    nvidia-driver-440 is already the newest version (440.82+really.440.64-0ubuntu6).
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
      linux-headers-5.4.0-33 linux-headers-5.4.0-33-generic
      linux-image-5.4.0-33-generic linux-modules-5.4.0-33-generic
      linux-modules-extra-5.4.0-33-generic
      linux-modules-nvidia-440-5.4.0-33-generic
    Use 'apt autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
    Code:
    root@crow:~# apt list --upgradeable
    Listing... Done
    linux-modules-nvidia-440-generic-hwe-20.04/focal-updates 5.4.0-39.43 amd64 [upgradable from: 5.4.0-37.41]
    N: There are 2 additional versions. Please use the '-a' switch to see them.
    Code:
    root@crow:~# apt list --upgradeable -a
    Listing... Done
    linux-modules-nvidia-440-generic-hwe-20.04/focal-updates 5.4.0-39.43 amd64 [upgradable from: 5.4.0-37.41]
    linux-modules-nvidia-440-generic-hwe-20.04/focal-security,now 5.4.0-37.41 amd64 [installed,upgradable to: 5.4.0-39.43]
    linux-modules-nvidia-440-generic-hwe-20.04/focal 5.4.0-26.30+2 amd64
    Last edited by coffeecat; June 25th, 2020 at 09:47 AM. Reason: Merged 3 posts and added code tags

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Beans
    49

    Re: 20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

    UPDATE : i just now did another apt update & apt upgrade sequence, got offered new nvidia drivers, installed those, did a reboot, and my 4K displays work again like they're supposed to
    yay

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I think I'm here! Maybe?
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: 20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

    Great news!

    Please mark as SOLVED from the Thread Tools menu up-top if this is now solved to your satisfaction. It is a great help to other users searching the forum.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 20.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo --- Wireless-Info --- SolvedThreads

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    46

    Re: 20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

    This is weird. I have an old thinkpad [Quadro 1000M] and did the same update and have the same issue-- which has not resolved itself with another update (yet).

    The strange thing is that logging in with one account gives me full 1080x1920 resolution on two monitors.

    Logging into a second account on the same machine, which worked fine previously, gives me the 960x480 resolution on the laptop and the 2nd external screen is not recognized. xrandr only shows a device called "default" at that low resolutoin and won't display anything else.

    Very strange that one account works and the other does not.

    Also saw this in dmesg:

    [74409.288234] NVRM: API mismatch: the client has the version 390.138, but
    NVRM: this kernel module has the version 390.132. Please
    NVRM: make sure that this kernel module and all NVIDIA driver
    NVRM: components have the same version.

    This message does not appear when logging into the working account. So theother one must be loading something that this one isn't...

    Any thoughts are appreciated. Here are all installed nvidia packages:

    ii libnvidia-cfg1-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA binary OpenGL/GLX configuration library
    ii libnvidia-common-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 all Shared files used by the NVIDIA libraries
    ii libnvidia-compute-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA libcompute package
    ii libnvidia-compute-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVIDIA libcompute package
    ii libnvidia-decode-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA Video Decoding runtime libraries
    ii libnvidia-decode-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVIDIA Video Decoding runtime libraries
    ii libnvidia-encode-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVENC Video Encoding runtime library
    ii libnvidia-encode-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVENC Video Encoding runtime library
    ii libnvidia-fbc1-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA OpenGL-based Framebuffer Capture runtime library
    ii libnvidia-fbc1-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVIDIA OpenGL-based Framebuffer Capture runtime library
    ii libnvidia-gl-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA OpenGL/GLX/EGL/GLES GLVND libraries and Vulkan ICD
    ii libnvidia-gl-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVIDIA OpenGL/GLX/EGL/GLES GLVND libraries and Vulkan ICD
    ii libnvidia-ifr1-390:amd64 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA OpenGL-based Inband Frame Readback runtime library
    ii libnvidia-ifr1-390:i386 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 i386 NVIDIA OpenGL-based Inband Frame Readback runtime library
    ii nvidia-compute-utils-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA compute utilities
    ii nvidia-dkms-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA DKMS package
    ii nvidia-driver-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA driver metapackage
    ii nvidia-kernel-common-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 Shared files used with the kernel module
    ii nvidia-kernel-source-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA kernel source package
    ii nvidia-prime 0.8.14 all Tools to enable NVIDIA's Prime
    ii nvidia-settings 440.64-0ubuntu1 amd64 Tool for configuring the NVIDIA graphics driver
    ii nvidia-utils-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA driver support binaries
    ii screen-resolution-extra 0.18build1 all Extension for the nvidia-settings control panel
    ii xserver-xorg-video-nvidia-390 390.138-0ubuntu0.20.04.1 amd64 NVIDIA binary Xorg driver

    dunno why there are both i386 and amd64 packages installed but maybe because I was running an old ut2004 and it needed it or something... can't remember.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    46

    Re: 20.4 : stuck on lowest resolution and only 1 screen (of 2)

    Update: A reboot fixed the resolution detection in both accounts. Maybe there was some older extension still in kernel memory or something used by one account and not the other (?) Even though a restart was not suggested by apt, that was the fix. Thank good ness it was that easy.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •