Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which motherboards will boot ubuntu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Which motherboards will boot ubuntu

Hello all,

Can anyone vouch for a motherboard with an AMD X570 chipset that works fine with Ubuntu?

It would be a helpful starting point for selecting a board for my PC build.

Also let me know if you have any experience with B450 / X470 boards as I might be tempted to go for one of those if compatibility issues made it necessary.

Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Which motherboards will boot ubuntu

I wouldn't "vouch" for the B450 that I've been running Ubuntu on for 18 months. There are hundreds of settings that have to be configured correctly. Lots of compatible and incompatible HW makes vouching for anything difficult.

Pretty much any reputable brand of B450 or X470 or X370 board will work fine. Don't know about x570 - haven't been in the market. Pay attention to the MB vendors who refuse to suppose Linux in any way. Avoid those.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I'm running Ubuntu Focal on an ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero with a 3700x. No issues not related to the Nvidia 2080 GPU and that there's no driver for the 2.5GHz LAN adapter which I don't use anyway.

YMMV.
    regards

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by rbmorse View Post
    I'm running Ubuntu Focal on an ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero with a 3700x. No issues not related to the Nvidia 2080 GPU and that there's no driver for the 2.5GHz LAN adapter which I don't use anyway.

YMMV.