Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UbuntuStudio 20.04.1 or jump to Kubuntu + Ubuntu Studio Installer ?

Beans

UbuntuStudio 20.04.1 or jump to Kubuntu + Ubuntu Studio Installer ?

Knowing that 20.04 will be the last version to go with Xfce and with the 20.04.1 release coming closer in July, I am wondering if I should jump straight to Kubuntu 20.04 with Ubuntu Studio installed on top. It seems from the news postings that that has been the preferred solution of most of the devs for some time already.

I've been using UbuntuStudio for some 7 years and I've become used to Xfce DE. I take it that KDE Plasma 5 is 'better' than Xfce as far as the devs are concerned.

Does anyone have any experience of Xfce v Plasma or the use of the Ubuntu Studio installer on top of other flavours that they would be willing to share?

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: UbuntuStudio 20.04.1 or jump to Kubuntu + Ubuntu Studio Installer ?

If you are used to Xfce, why not use Xubuntu rather than Kubuntu and add the specific applications that make up Ubuntu-Studio to the standard installation.

I don't know what those applications are, I'm afraid, but it must be possible to figure out from a current studio installation.
    Here's a list as a txt file of what would bw added to my Xubuntyu 20.04 if I installed the ubuntu-studio-core package. I already have quite a good assortment of multimedia packages installed (vlc, audacious, audacity, handbrake, openshot, ffmpeg, audio-recorder) so they will not be listed here even if they're dependencies of the studio metapackage.

I hope this helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 20.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo --- Wireless-Info --- SolvedThreads

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

The main difference with Ubuntu Studio is that it uses the -lowlatency kernel by default rather than the -generic one. It's easy enough to install that in whichever flavour you prefer.

Beans