Thread: Need some Ubuntu 20.04 Server Help

Beans

Need some Ubuntu 20.04 Server Help

I'm new to Ubuntu and I have installed the 20.04 Ubuntu Server on this machine. Once complete, I installed Cinnnamon Gui and I added drivers for my RocketRaid Hardware card which is currently sporting 2 - 6TB NAS drives, so 12TB on Raid 0.
    The Hardare is an ASUS B350 Prime board, Ryzen 7, gen 1, 1700x and 16gb, all repurposed but new case and new Raid Card+ drives.

Anyways, now I need some help.
    I am new to server and my linux skills are probably 4/10.
    I need some decent guidance on how to simply setup this server so I can fileserve. That's pretty much all I want to do for now.
    I figured there would be a gui interface to set everything up, but it looks like it all has to be done through the command line.
    I can see the Ubuntu Server on the network, but I assume I have to provision things now for file serving.
    I installed Samba, but now I'm ready for some help.

If anyone is willing to help me through this, I would really appreaciate it.

Mel

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Need some Ubuntu 20.04 Server Help

There ain't no gui and most of the time if there is, it shouldn't be used. That applies to most "server" things on most Linux OSes.

Did you search these forums yet? Morbius1 usually does the Samba stuff pretty well.
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2434383

Or check the Ubuntu Server Guide?
    https://ubuntu.com/blog/ubuntu-server-guide
    https://ubuntu.com/server/docs
    https://www.techrepublic.com/article...persons-guide/

Samba is really for Windows systems. For Unix-to-Unix file access there are better and more flexible options, though smb can be used between Unix systems too. I run NFS for Unix-to-Unix and have a few Samba shares for very specific reasons (Wifi Android clients and 1 Windows laptop). Everything else uses NFS or some other protocol.