Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unable to upgrade VirtualBox

Beans

Unable to upgrade VirtualBox

Hi all,

VirtualBox 6.0
    Host OS - Ubuntu 18.04

This is a spare desktop PC, having NOT been run for about a month. On starting VirtualBox I'm asked to upgrade to a new version of VirtualBox. On clicking to accept it finally a warning popup
    Code:
    The network operation failed with the following error: 
    During network request: SSL authentication failed.
    This is NOT the first time I'm asked to upgrade VirtualBox on this PC but it is my first time encountering this problem.

I have been searching a while on Internet discovering several links having similar problem. Please advise how to fix it.

Thanks

Regards
    satimis

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Unable to upgrade VirtualBox

What version of VirtualBox are you trying to upgrade to?
    Does it work for you to manually download the new version from the official website, apt-get purge the existing VirtualBox, then install the new version?
    Xubuntu 22.04, ArchLinux ♦ System76 hardware, virt-manager/KVM, VirtualBox
    When your questions are resolved to your satisfaction, please use Thread Tools > "Mark this thread as solved..."

Beans

Follow the procedure described here

https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linu...xdistributions

to add Oracle's repository to your system. Next remove your current virtualbox installation with

Code:
    sudo apt purge virtualbox
    then install VB 6.1 with

Code:
    sudo apt update
    sudo apt install virtualbox-6.1
    Your system will upgrade VB automatically when needed just like it updates software in the Ubuntu repositories.

After you've finished and VB works as expected, install the Extension Pack: https://download.virtualbox.org/virt...8.vbox-extpack
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.