Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AWK if else statment on conky

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

AWK if else statment on conky

Hi there guys!

Since ubuntu 20.04 brings us Gamemode included, why not make conky work for us?
    So, i added this to my conky:

Code:
    ${exec gamemoded -s |awk '{print $3}' }
    Final result, it will print "active" or "inactive" on my setup. Now, i want to bring this to the next level! Instead of printing the word itself, i want it to print ON or OFF accordingly.
    I have no experience in scripting, i'm still learning, and i'm not getting the if statment to work!

I tried this:

Code:
    gamemoded -s |awk 'if($3 =="active")' print "On" else 'if($3 =="inactive")' print "off"
    However its not working :s. can anyone help?
    Light a candle for the sinners...set the world on fire...

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: AWK if else statment on conky

I tested your awk statement:
    Code:
    $ echo on;awk 'if($3 =="active")' print "On" else 'if($3 =="inactive")' print "off"
    on
    awk: cmd. line:1: if($3 =="active")
    awk: cmd. line:1: ^ syntax error
    Mine:
    Code:
    $ echo on;awk '{if($3 =="active") print "On"; else if($3 =="inactive") print "off"}'
    on
    Appears missing "{}" blocks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Hi! thanks for your help!
    Indeed it works, however it disables too the other lines bellow for my conky setup. i wonder why?

Code:
    ${color2}Game Mode:${color} ${alignr}${exec gamemoded -s |awk '{if($3 =="active") print "On"; else if($3 =="inactive") print "off"}'
    Edit: all working! thanks!!
    Last edited by UpSignal; May 19th, 2020 at 04:20 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Heym can i ask just one more question?
    in that line of code, how can i change the color of each print ?

i'm trying to change the "off" color, but it doesnt work. tried the code before the print and after the print, no joy.

Code: