Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [KUBUNTU 20.04 LTS] Stuck in dual-boot installation hell on my Dell Vostro 14 3468.

Beans

Unhappy [KUBUNTU 20.04 LTS] Stuck in dual-boot installation hell on my Dell Vostro 14 3468.

Hi,
    A bit of context: I'm fairly new to Ubuntu. I've been running KUBUNTU on a secondary laptop for ~6 months after my Software Engineering Professor instructed us to try to switch over to Linux. I took to KUBUNTU because of UBUNTU and the KDE personalization options (sucker for MacOS theme ). Anyways, a week ago, that laptop broke (basically irreparable).

I decided to dual boot it on my primary laptop, Dell Vostro 14 3468 (Intel i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz; UEFI; 8GB RAM; GPT Partition Table). I tried to install KUBUNTU, it failed (unable to install grub). Over the course of last week, I've tried to install Manjaro KDE, KDE Neon, Vanilla Ubuntu and Kubuntu. ALL FAIL AT THE SAME STEP. Installer fails to install GRUB. All Data is copied successfully, as I can see it there when I boot live. have tried to manually install Grub
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    , it slaps me with a 'read/write /dev/sda error'. At this stage, I'm just totally burnt out. I've tried all installation guides out there, to no avail. Manually setting EFI partition; Guided Install alongside (resize partition) all fail.

I'm able to run it Live from my USB. I know the iso files are A-Ok as I've checked MD5 sum, and it is currently running in VBox. With my finals approaching, I'm just stressed to the maximum.

Right now, I'm just so overrun with information that it feels impossible to sum it all down here. I'll edit and add any thing I remember frequently here. Ask me anything you guys need to know and I'll reply ASAP. Please do keep in mind that I'm in GMT +5, so sometimes it might take upto 8-10 hrs for me to reply.

Hoping to get this sorted out.