Thread: My Laptop Lenovo IdeaPad journey in wrestling against BIOS/UEFI issues.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Thumbs up My Laptop Lenovo IdeaPad journey in wrestling against BIOS/UEFI issues.

This setup & install journal will be linked to my LAPTOP COMPATIBILITY post found here:

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1543006&page=179

1) Version: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa)

2) Laptop Maker:
    Lenovo

3) Laptop Model:
    IdeaPad s400u

It works!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Background story

I started learning how to use Linux around 2005 using Ubuntu and Debian. Things went smooth for a couple of years then I tried Linux Mint and Lubuntu. Then around 2015 when I discovered that there was this new thing called UEFI. I could no longer manage to install any Linux distros as easily as before on machines that I previously had done several Linux installs on.

Not having the time and energy to deal with UEFI that stopped me from even booting into the LiveCD/USB. I then just dropped everything about Linux and only played on my Windows machine. 5 years later all my Linux machines became deprecated and unusable which forced me into facing the UEFI boot issues once again.

Long story short it took me around 2 days straight to wrestle against the BIOS/UEFI issues trying to make the LiveCD/USB boot. Finally I understood how to work with UEFI and how to configure the BIOS settings to make things just start. That's why I wanted to write this journal for anybody else facing the same struggles.

To simplify things this is how I like to imagine it, even though it might not be the correct way to describe things.

* BIOS = BIOS 1.0
    * UEFI = BIOS 2.0

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pre-install procedures