Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cant create new folder in different drive

Beans

Exclamation Cant create new folder in different drive

I'm VERY new to Linux, just entering at least an hour ago, and i know nothing of Ubuntu, but i navigated to my other drive that i wanted to make a new folder on, and it was grayed out. I tried other solutions but it didn't make much sense. Can someone help me on this?

Beans

Re: Cant create new folder in different drive

Can you tell more about this drive? Is it an extern drive? Another partition? Is it in your root directory?
    | AMD Ryzen 1700x 3.4 GHz | ASUS PRIME X370-A | 32 GB 2400 Mhz DDR4 |
    | ASUS Nvidia 1070 8 GB | SSD 250 GB | HDD 1 TB |

My favourite place of all, is the closet in the hall

Beans

What file system is it? NTFS? Ext4?

Beans

All Linux distributions were designed as multi-user systems and a 'normal' user will by default, be allowed read/write access only to the /home/user directory. If you wand access to other parts of the system, you need to either do it as root (using sudo) or change ownership permissions. Read through the Ubuntu documentation at the links below to get a more thorough understanding. The 3rd link below gives a detailed explanation of using sudo.

https://help.ubuntu.com/

https://help.ubuntu.com/stable/ubuntu-help/

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Quote Originally Posted by pigswipe View Post
    I'm VERY new to Linux, just entering at least an hour ago, and i know nothing of Ubuntu, but i navigated to my other drive that i wanted to make a new folder on, and it was grayed out. I tried other solutions but it didn't make much sense. Can someone help me on this?
    First, which release of Ubuntu are you running? 20.04, 18.04, something else? The version matters.