Thread: How do I update and external USB drive to match a folder on my computer in Linux?

Beans

How do I update and external USB drive to match a folder on my computer in Linux?

I have a master directory of my music library (mp3 files) on my desktop computer. Sometimes I update it or make tweaks to it as I get new music, or fix mp3 tags, etc.
    In both my cars, I have copies of this folder on USB sticks so I can listen to the music. The way I have been updating my USB sticks is to blank them and make a new copy of the Master directory on them. But seeing as my music library is large (about 60GB of data) and the changes I make are only ever a small fraction of this, it seems very inefficient and copying over all that data twice takes a very long time.

Is there a tool in Linux that would allow me to update the USB sticks so that they match the master directory. Something that would "see" the differences between the Master and the USB folder and make only those changes to the USB copies that are necessary?

Thanks,

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: How do I update and external USB drive to match a folder on my computer in Linux?

Something that would "see" the differences between the Master and the USB folder and make only those changes to the USB copies that are necessary?
    You may not realise it but you hit on the correct keyword - "differences".

Explore tools such as rsync and rdiff-backup and others designed to backup changes or differences.
    A quick search for "backup differences" will reveal articles.

Beans

Re: How do I update and external USB drive to match a folder on my computer in Linux?

Thanks. I should have mentioned, I'd prefer something with a GUI if possible, but can do command line if I must.