Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    If possible, I want to recover the contents of my home partition. It was mounted at /media/username by default and I used fstab to mount it at /home. If recovery is impossible, I want to know what I did to lose them. Thanks for any help.

    du -sh ~/.[a-Z]*
    Code:
    4.0K	/home/keizen/.bash_history427M	/home/keizen/.cache
    564M	/home/keizen/.config
    4.0K	/home/keizen/.gconf
    16K	/home/keizen/.gnupg
    4.0K	/home/keizen/.ICEauthority
    1.6M	/home/keizen/.local
    21M	/home/keizen/.mozilla
    76K	/home/keizen/.pki
    4.0K	/home/keizen/.ssh
    0	/home/keizen/.sudo_as_admin_successful
    2.4M	/home/keizen/.zoom


    I used chmod again to get the following permissions, but there is still no lost + found.

    Code:
    /home$ ls -alFtotal 12
    drwxr-xr-x  3 keizen keizen 4096 Mar 30 17:48 ./
    drwxr-xr-x 24 root   root   4096 Mar 30 13:11 ../
    drwxr-xr-x 19 keizen keizen 4096 Mar 31 09:40 keizen/

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    22,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by qianian2 View Post
    If possible, I want to recover the contents of my home partition. It was mounted at /media/username by default and I used fstab to mount it at /home. If recovery is impossible, I want to know what I did to lose them. Thanks for any help.
    Ah .... appears the error was that the HOME directory was mounted too high.

    Needed ....
    /media/thefu ----> /home/thefu
    but it appears this was done:
    /media/thefu ----> /home
    OR
    mkdir /media/home ; mv /media/thefu /media/home/thefu
    then mount it.

    I’m just guessing there. Does that seem like what happened? No idea what may have happened to the old files. They should have been in /home/ somewhere. Nothing automatic would delete them to my knowledge.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    That's exactly what happened, thank you for explaining. So confusing -- I see /home/keizen but as we saw this is all that's in /home. Any possibility re-mounting it could give access to those contents?

    Code:
    keizen@Stonau:~$ ls -al ..total 12
    drwxr-xr-x  3 keizen keizen 4096 Mar 30 17:48 .
    drwxr-xr-x 24 root   root   4096 Mar 30 13:11 ..
    drwxr-xr-x 19 keizen keizen 4096 Apr  1 08:32 keizen

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    22,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    Can't hurt to try.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    20

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    The output of TestDisk (sorry I only have an image link) identifies two partitions that can't be recovered. They are identical in size (429786944) but the Start and End are off by 8 each. Does that mean there are two indices and can I recover my files?

    Additionally TestDisk says The harddisk seems too small! Check the harddisk size: HD jumper settings, BIOS detection...

    Is it possible mounting to /home without deleting the directories there by default caused my desired content to be hidden under the default ones? Any help is appreciated. Also should I clean up this post and re-post?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    22,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change mount /media/username to /home using fstab didn't work

    i don't use testdisk. i have "backups" instead, which seem to cause many fewer problems and less prayer is needed.
    For dealing with file systems, sometimes it is easiest to boot from a "Try Ubuntu" flash installer and choose "Try Ubuntu" to look at the storage when it isn't actively being used by the running OS.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •