Thread: advice on windows 10 virtualisation

Beans

Post advice on windows 10 virtualisation

Hello people,
    My laptop has 8gb of RAM (i plan to upgrade to 16gb) and an intel i7 8650U processor, my plan is to run a lightweight linux distro like lubuntu, and to use kvm to create virtual machines that i will use mainly for work (light use of Matlab and Skype), i tried to run windows on kvm using VM-manager and i wasn't happy with the performance, the audio and the graphics was slow, the refresh rate on the vm was like 20FPS, even if i give it 6 cores of cpu and 6Gb of RAM. i heard that kvm was very efficient on running virt machines.
    My questions are : Is my computer powerful enough to allow me to do what i want ? what are your suggestions to run my windows vm as fast as possible?
    PS : i'm a complete noob
    stay safe an have a nice day.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: advice on windows 10 virtualisation

There are lots of VM tuning settings, mainly around storage, networking and properly sharing limited resources.
    if your primary goal for any guest VM is for high end GPU use, then you will almost always be disappointed using VMs w/o some sort of exclusive GPU passthru.

First, only provide 2 vCPUs to any guest at the most. More isn't usually better. 1 vCPU is my initial default, but with Windows the OS will load a different kernel if there is only 1 vCPU, so 2 is probably the minimal. Changing the number of vCPUs later is easy. Just shutdown the VM, change the value, start up. For non-Windows VMs, start with 1 vCPU. Never exceed N-1 vCPUs in use with the total number of VMs running. Always leave at least 1 CPU for the hostOS to manage VMs and other hostOS stuff. Don't overcommit CPU or RAM resources.