Thread: Windows 10 duel boot a clonezillla imaged backup of Kubuntu?

Hybrid View

Beans

Windows 10 duel boot a clonezillla imaged backup of Kubuntu?

I currently have Kubuntu 19.10 running on my machine. I want to duel boot Windows 10, but I do not want to go through the hassle of reinstalling Kubuntu from scratch. If I do a clean install of Windows 10, re-partition, and restore my Kubuntu image (clonezilla) onto that new partition, is it then possible to configure to duelboot after that? Or is only doing a clean install of both the only option?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Windows 10 duel boot a clonezillla imaged backup of Kubuntu?

I am not an expert on this situation, but I do know that I wouldn't attempt to answer without more information. Such as - is the machine you wish to do this on UEFI capable? Was the Kubuntu install you cloned done in UEFI mode?

The first thought I have is that given a yes on these questions, it SHOULD be possible, but am not convinced that the effort would be less than the re-install you mention It could be, though. Some research on booting alternatives might be required though - for instance I would use rEFInd to boot with - and the research involved might take more time than the 1/2 hour to re-install - as might the playing with partition sizes that could arise no matter how you intend to boot...

Just thoughts for the moment, but let us know what you're actually working with - including available drives and partitions and their sizes - and what your ultimate aim will be.

Freebird54
    | Xubuntu 20.04 / Arch rolling XFCE/ MX-19 patito feo / Arcolinux 20.5.7 rolling / EndeavourOS rolling XFCE / Ubuntu Unity 20.04 / Arch rolling Cinnamon / EndeavorsOS rolling Budgie / Arch rolling XFCE-compiz / Kubuntu 20.04 |

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

+1 to try rEFInd .. and also take time studying the options in /boot/efi/EFI/refind/refind.conf after installation of rEFInd.