Thread: Yet Another Slow Wifi Question (YASWQ!), Asus ROG Zephyrus G GU502, Realtek rtl8821ce

Beans

Yet Another Slow Wifi Question (YASWQ!), Asus ROG Zephyrus G GU502, Realtek rtl8821ce

UPDATE:
    After installing Ubuntu 18.04, I had zero wifi on my machine. In the end, the following steps worked:
    - Tethering from my mobile, I could install and compile the driver rtl8821ce (see links below); that gave me wifi but it remained very patchy.
    - Finally, I changed the antenna using this.
    - I have seen advice on disabling the power saving mode here and used that, but I think the two above steps are what solved it for me.

Hi,

I am still relatively new to Linux, with some experience for 1-2 years with Mint, now trying out Ubuntu mostly for GPU/Deep Learning support. Just bought the Asus ROG Zephyrus G GU502DU_GA502DU and am glad that I can run some deep learning libraries on it without too much trouble (my love for Linux is growing as well). I am still struggling a bit with my wifi connection and the suspend thing (a topic for another thread). I'd be very grateful for some advice or pointers, as I'm getting a download speed of a few kb/s only, patchily, and need to be close to my router for it to work at all.

I've already done some research:

• pastebin wifi script available here.
    • At first I did not have any wifi, but got it to work somehow after I cloned & compiled the independent driver repo rtl8821ce with advice found here (and here, talking about the same model).
    • I fiddled with antennas after reading this, choosing the second one, thinking it would bring significant improvement, but unsure now it really does.
    • nmcli gives me something like this:

Code:
    N-USE  SSID         MODE   CHAN  RATE        SIGNAL  BARS  SECURITY 
    *       BTHub6-82KP  Infra  1     195 Mbit/s  55      ▂▄__  WPA2

• a script found here gives me this:

Code:
    Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
    Testing from BT (86.186.14.240)...