Thread: Installed Lubuntu 19.04 but the theme looks like ubuntu.

Beans

Question Installed Lubuntu 19.04 but the theme looks like ubuntu.

Hi there!

I'm a total noob to Lubuntu / Ubuntu. I know the name but today I installed the OS for the first time in my live Looks good btw!
    Anyways, a friend asked if I could "fix" his 10+ years old PC, I replied "I'll try!", finally got some time so I took a shot today, after googling around I learned that Lubuntu might be the best OS for this system.

So I downloaded Lubuntu 19.04 and installed it on the PC. I was prompted with the question which additional software to install, instead of checking the boxes I pressed enter and accidentally continued installation.
    After the installation, it loaded Lubuntu and asked for login in the terminal instead of a user login screen. So I figured out it needs desktop installed, so I did with these commands:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    sudo apt-get -y install ubuntu-desktop

After this was done, I indeed get a login screen & desktop, all looks good, but it looks like Ubuntu (see attachment) instead of Lubuntu (see attachment). So my questions are:

- How is this possible / What went wrong or not?
    - Is this indeed Lubuntu or Ubuntu?
    - Does this "Ubuntu" desktop effect performance? -> Is the Lubuntu dekstop faster?
    - How can I fix this?

Looking forward to your replies.

Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Installed Lubuntu 19.04 but the theme looks like ubuntu.

Welcome to the forum!

Quote Originally Posted by damir2020 View Post
    So I downloaded Lubuntu 19.04 and installed it on the PC.