Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stuck at the very beginning

Beans

Stuck at the very beginning

I am new to Ubuntu and am trying to install Nagios on Ubuntu 18.04 desktop

I am following LHAMMONDS link and get an ERROR : CANNOT VERIFY GITHUBS Certificate !
    use '--no-check-certificate'
    How ?
    I cannot therefore download Nagios

Any advice please

Beans

Re: Stuck at the very beginning

Nagios is available in the Ubuntu repositories. Is there some reason you don't want that version. What is "LHAMMONDS"? Some tutorial site? If it is you might post a link to it.

https://kifarunix.com/how-to-install...-ubuntu-18-04/

Beans
    Hidden!

I assume weevie56 is talking about this thread
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....ammonds+nagios

However, I will have to leave it to others using servers to come to the rescue here for more help, though I note that the linked thread is now 8 years old (for 12.04) so may be very outdated and need some edits or changes.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 20.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo --- Wireless-Info --- SolvedThreads

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    Nagios is available in the Ubuntu repositories. Is there some reason you don't want that version. What is "LHAMMONDS"? Some tutorial site? If it is you might post a link to it.

https://kifarunix.com/how-to-install...-ubuntu-18-04/
    I am aware that Nagios is available - ALL over the place - but am experiencing incredible difficulty installing Nagios
    Is there any reason why Nagios should not install on Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS desktop
    I am unable to access ROOT !
    Also - the damned thing won't connect to the net for updates - I have added a ssl cert and it allows browsing - but not system updates
    Any help welcome
    Last edited by weevie56; March 4th, 2020 at 11:57 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by weevie56 View Post