Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: can't get the app running please help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    5

    Question can't get the app running please help

    Hi everyone! I have experienced a problem at work when I installed lubuntu I can't run RCphone app not .deb nor even .appimage version (in gethub). Would be great to hear an advise. thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    27,940
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    You posted this in the Resolution Centre which is for:
    This is the place to contact a forum admin concerning problems with your forum account, to appeal moderator action, to request a thread be moved from the jail, or to file a complaint about forum harrassment or abuse.
    Moved to New to Ubuntu for support.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    93
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    To run such programs, you may need some knowledge on using the terminal. Could you please provide information on how you intend to run these applications, so someone can provide further advice? Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    5

    Question Re: can't get the app running please help

    I mean I am a new user, just started up with linux, I chose lubuntu distro for it's low ram usage, bcz I run heavily loaded web tabs which require lots of ram. this is the app to receive and make calls and texts, I double click on it but nothing happens. .deb package is for amd core but I have intel, .appimage won't run for some reason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Beans
    1,366

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    Quote Originally Posted by nwicked View Post
    [snip].deb package is for amd core but I have intel,[snap]
    Packages for 64 bit PC-Systems are named amd64 because Intel had a different 64 bit architecture called Itanium which failed to get any significant market share, mainly because performance with existing 32-bit code was really bad. All PC-processors sold today use AMD's way of doing 64 bit programs no matter whether they are made by AMD or Intel. So unless you are in fact using an Itanium-based Workstation the *_amd64.deb file should run on your system.

    Holger

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,448
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    First update your system. After this the standard way to install a .deb file is
    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i <name-of-deb-file>
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    5

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    thank you guys for being patient for noob, I will try this out and will give a feedback on the result!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    5

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    This is something new, thank you!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,448
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    You are welcome. If it works then please mark the thread solved.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    5

    Re: can't get the app running please help

    Hello! So I have tried everything I could: my system is i386 so I installed amd64 arch, tried to install the app, then libappindicator1:amd64 is not installed so I installed it, didn't help, so I removed the amd64 arch and updated the system, tried to run chmod u+x .AppImage file, won't run. Please advise

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •