Thread: Need help with Xonar DGX sound card

Beans

Question Need help with Xonar DGX sound card

Hello everybody. I've been using various Ubuntu and Kubuntu installs for a few years now and I love them. I just installed Kubuntu 19.10 on a computer that uses a Xonar DGX sound card plugged into a PCI-E slot. I've never tried any linux install before on a computer that didn't use an integrated sound card. The Xonar DGX card gets recognized by the OS but it wasn't playing any sound. So I DuckDuckGo'd a bit and found info on how to get it to work from this link:

https://xatom.dev/2018/05/03/xonar-d...ntu-18-04.html

Here are the relevant steps:

Launch alsamixer in a terminal, select the right sound card (F6), go to “Analog Output” (arrow right) and select “Multichannel” (arrow up)
    The thing is that I need to do these steps every time I boot up the OS. I have to open a terminal, run alsamixer, choose the DGX card, and then select the Multichannel option every time.

Is there a way to set this up so that the sound card works upon bootup without having to manually do the above steps?

Thank you!
    Last edited by ancapistan; 1 Week Ago at 06:23 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Lightbulb Re: Need help with Xonar DGX sound card

I have experience with the ASUS® XONAR® Series under ubuntu®. The driver ye want from the Advanced LinUX Sound Architecture Project is snd-virtuoso, specifically written for the ASUS AV-100 as diffused and assembled by C-Media International Inc.; the LinUX Kernel Project is incorporating the ALSA drivers into the Kernel Modules (packages: linux-modules-*).