Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Beans
    3

    Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Is there is any difference in installing package separately or using Lamp?

    I know lamp package saves time in installation but i am asking in terms of memory usage or security?

    Reasons to go for manual installation?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    14,739
    Distro
    Kubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Use the LAMP package. There are additional packages like libapache2-mod-php that are needed for all of this to work properly. Over my years here, I've seen a number of posts from people who had installed Apache and PHP manually and couldn't get them to work properly. Often the problem was not having installed something like libapache2-mod-php. The LAMP package includes all these things.

    There are many other modules for Apache and PHP that, if you require them, must be installed manually. Run the commands "apt-cache search libapache2" and "apt-cache search php-" to see the lists of available packages.
    Last edited by SeijiSensei; 1 Week Ago at 05:02 PM.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Halloween Town
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Thread moved to Server Platforms for a better fit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Beans
    1,197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Quote Originally Posted by sudo1211 View Post
    Is there is any difference in installing package separately or using Lamp?
    Yes

    Quote Originally Posted by sudo1211 View Post
    I know lamp package saves time in installation but i am asking in terms of memory usage or security?
    You can install the separate components and end up with a similar install using the pre-package but you are restricted in the design flexibility when using the package.

    Quote Originally Posted by sudo1211 View Post
    Reasons to go for manual installation?
    Flexibility in design
    To use MariaDB instead of MySQL
    To use multiple dedicated servers for scaleability and increased security.
    To make use of high-availability with HAProxy / Clustering

    Here is an example of a server design that can handle growth easily:

    And here's the install documentation on the steps I took to create the above HA design:
    Web load balancer
    Web server
    Database load balancer
    Database cluster

    Of course, not every app needs such a design but having your database clustered like this with a load balancer makes it VERY robust and allows you to keep it online and working even if you have to perform maintenance/upgrades to a single node.

    I try to setup development / test platforms very-much how I would set it up in production. Why? Because more often than not, the development system gets turned into production as is for whatever reason and you don't get to go back and "fix" the design issues that was created because it was simply considered "development" and afforded a lot of extra slack because it was not "production."

    LHammonds

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    14,739
    Distro
    Kubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    I'll just say that I have hosted a number of websites over the years and never had an infrastructure as complex as that.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Beans
    1,197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    I'll just say that I have hosted a number of websites over the years and never had an infrastructure as complex as that.
    Personal/small/medium sites typically do not. But sites with significant traffic such as popular sites or business web applications do require the ability to scale. Uptime is the other consideration if its mission-critical.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    14,739
    Distro
    Kubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Right. I'm definitely in the first group; I suspect the OP is as well.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Beans
    1,197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Do i use LAMP or manually Install the php, apache2, mysql?

    Well, he just asked what's different...thus I gave some various reasons (but not all-inclusive) regarding differences.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •