Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu problem with MicroSD Card.

Beans

Ubuntu problem with MicroSD Card.

Hello, I am fairly new to Ubuntu and having a problem that I would surly love to fix. My machine is a Lenovo 130s, it's a fairly new budget laptop that I am using for school and learning to code. The machine came with Windows 10 and so far has performed great for all my needs. I decided to add Ubuntu alongside windows 10 so I can get more familiar with Linux and so far I have been very pleased with Ubuntu's performance except for this one issue.

Problem: The machine has a micro SD card reader with a Samsung 128GB U3 card inserted. In windows, any files added to the card persist as expected. In Ubuntu, however, anything I add to the card is gone after a reboot.

To be clear, If I add files to the card while booted in windows, they are fine and can be read/used by both OSs, but anything added while I am in the Ubuntu OS, is gone after a reboot, regardless of OS.

Note: Any attempts to Format/Partition the SDcard while in Ubuntu (Using Gparted) are met with all kinds of I/O Errors, Formatting in windows to NTFS works fine without errors.

Thanks for looking!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Ubuntu problem with MicroSD Card.

Thread moved to Hardware for a better fit

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

If NTFS Windows sets hibernation flag if fast start up is on. And Windows keeps turning it on with updates. So any data written from Linux, is removed as it restores from hibernation the file structure.

Fast Start up off (always on hibernation), note that Windows turns this back on with updates, SHIFT + Shut down button
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...2#post13488472
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4...dows-10-a.html
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html
    https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...0-fast-startup
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :