Thread: Security of virtualized guest Ubuntu with Windows 10 host vs dual boot?

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Security of virtualized guest Ubuntu with Windows 10 host vs dual boot?

Hello all,

I have been using Linux and Ubuntu for several years and I have: (1) used Virtualbox with Windows XP as the guest and Ubuntu as the host and (2) I have also dual booted Ubuntu and Windows. I am considering running Windows 10 as the host with Ubuntu as the guest in Virtualbox and doing most of my contact with the internet through virtualized Ubuntu, rather than dual booting Windows 10 and Ubuntu. (The dual boot installation is more complicated now that UEFI has replaced BIOS on the newer PCs.)

But, I am wondering about the security of virtualized guest Ubuntu with Windows 10 as the host vs dual booting between Windows 10 and Ubuntu.

QUESTION: Does anybody have any comments about the relative security of virtualizing Ubuntu like this, versus dual booting?

I don't think that virtualizing Windows as the guest with Ubuntu as the host is an option anymore, because I think the Windows 10 OS came pre-installed on the hard drive (my nephew, who is an IT guy, handled the early details of the PC). Any other comments will be appreciated.

Thanks,

A.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Security of virtualized guest Ubuntu with Windows 10 host vs dual boot?

If you lose the beachhead, then you lose the war.
    Translation: If Windows gets hacked, then all VMs are hacked too.
    So the question becomes, do you trust MSFT to provide a stable, secure, platform?

Just a few weeks ago, you could have downloaded a free Win10 license from Microsoft. Did that change?

Have you read the conditions in the EULA? Can you accept those terms? There's a bunch of stuff in there that destroys data privacy.

"IT Guys" are busy, so how great is your nephew at Linux, BSD, Solaris, HP-UX, AIX? Sometimes they don't have or take the time to learn other OSes.

Beans

Humm.