Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I use the latest Ubuntu or LTS version?

Beans

Should I use the latest Ubuntu or LTS version?

I'm new to Ubuntu, is it a bad idea to use the newest version or should I use the long term support version? I mostly just play games on steam and use the browser (firefox)

Beans

Re: Should I use the latest Ubuntu or LTS version?

It's really a personal decision but the primary reasons for moving to a non-LTS release would be if something is failing on the LTS or newer software that you want/need is available on a newer release and not on the LTS. Much easier to upgrade from one LTS to another is a 3rd reason.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by yancek View Post
    It's really a personal decision but the primary reasons for moving to a non-LTS release would be if something is failing on the LTS or newer software that you want/need is available on a newer release and not on the LTS. Much easier to upgrade from one LTS to another is a 3rd reason.
    +1

But brand new hardware is a reason in itself to use the latest release regardless of the LTS status.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

As a general rule I recommend new users go with the LTS releases. They have 5 years of support, but the interim releases only get 9 months. New users sometimes to forget to upgrade, so they end up stranded on the interim releases. LTS releases get all the security fixes, but don't get new versions of most software.

The main exception is if the user has very new hardware, particularly very new AMD hardware. It takes a little while for support for that hardware to trickle down, so being on the newer releases gets you that support sooner.

If you need other very new software that's only available in a non-LTS release, then you need to go with the non-LTS release, obviously, and remember to upgrade when the time comes.
    Last edited by CatKiller; January 22nd, 2020 at 06:38 PM.