Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    428

    start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    Kubuntu 18.04.3. Start menu and most drop down menu text is run together and somewhat garbled. This started a couple of days ago. This install is only a coupe of weeks old. I suspect a problem with plasma. Any suggestions on getting this working properly?
    Nothing is really clear when you are obtuse.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    7,378
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    You could try fiddling with the fonts settings. Maybe you've just got it set to use a size that's too big for the menus?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    428

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    I did think about the font size thing. Have not yet figured out how to change it. Thanks.
    Nothing is really clear when you are obtuse.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    7,378
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    The fonts settings are just in the normal system settings.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    428

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    Yes, I found the fonts menu and reduced everything I could find to the minimum. No change in the start or drop downs.
    Nothing is really clear when you are obtuse.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    428

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    I found what is at least a work around. By going to system settings>Display and Monitor>Compositor> then changing rendering backend to XRender, all drop down menus, start menus, panel popups and such are now readable. I will mark this as solved.
    Nothing is really clear when you are obtuse.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Beans
    51

    Re: start menu and drop downs do not render properly.

    >> By going to system settings>Display and Monitor>Compositor> then changing rendering backend to XRender

    What is the equivalent way to do this (and undo it) if using Ubuntu without the "K"??

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •