Thread: Feedback as a returning Ubuntu user

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Feedback as a returning Ubuntu user

Hi there,

I've recenty installed Ubuntu 19.10 on an old laptop of mine, and I'm amazed on some of the leaps and bounds that Ubuntu has made since the last time I've used it. For some background, I first used Ubuntu from Gutsy Gibbon (7.10 I think?) to Trusty Tahr, where it was no longer suitable for my needs so I switched to mac (I was a music production student so I needed to used QLAB and Pro Tools). Some of the Ubuntu-UK LoCo may remember me, such as Popey and themactep...

Ive always loved how Ubuntu wasn't afraid to do things their own way in order to deliver a positive user experience, and while some improvements have been made, I can't help but feel there are some areas for improvement. As a longtime returning user, I hope my feedback is both useful and constructive!

Either way, I as an Ubuntu user come back after a while I have some feedback, I don't know whether it's helpful at all, but here it is:

NOTIFICATIONS: Notifications are a different colour from each other; the notifications that appear at the top of the screen are grey, whereas those that appear when changing the volume/brightness are black, and both are are different colour from the dock, which is semi-translucent. All 3 should be the same colour. And consieration should be made for desktop notification to appear top right so they are less intrusve.

WINDOW DECORATIONS: I Love how ubuntu/gnome has incorporated the window decor and window menus, however, in my opinion the X/Square/Minus buttons should be on the left of the window, so that when a window is maximised, it helps the Activites/App Title menu stand out a bit more, as at present it isn't really clear that they do anything.

SUPERKEY: Should bring up the apps menu instead of the activities menu, as this is the function most people expect of the Super Key.