Thread: Wireless adapter driver installation

Hybrid View

Beans

Wireless adapter driver installation

Hi, I recently installed Ubuntu (version 18.04, I believe) on a new computer. I did it as a single boot installation to overwrite what was on the computer previously. After doing this, I'm unable to connect to wireless internet. From looking around online, I believe that the issue is that the driver for the wireless card on my computer (I believe Realtek RTL8821CE) was overwriten or otherwise erased. I've looked online for a few different approaches to solve this, but have been unable to find one that works so far, as I get some error messages when I attempt to solve the issue but I don't understand what the error messages mean.

I'm still relatively new to Ubuntu, but am trying to learn what I can, and would appreciate any assistance. Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Wireless adapter driver installation

Beans

Thank you for replying. I went to that link and followed the steps, however I got some error messages and it doesn't appear to have worked. The first issue that I ran into was, for the part of the link where it says "Scroll down to line 152 and change the line...", when I scrolled down to that line in the nano makefile screen, I didn't see the text that was listed out, but instead saw something similar yet different. I made the prescribed change anyways though, and then continued with the other instructions, but it didn't work out. Below are the results from the terminal window when I was going through this part. I see that there are "errors" listed, but I don't know what these errors mean (my apologies if the below is an incorrect way to load terminal window information into a post).

parker@parker-HP-All-in-One-24-f0xx:~/Downloads$ cd rtl8821ce
    parker@parker-HP-All-in-One-24-f0xx:~/Downloads/rtl8821ce$ nano Makefile
    parker@parker-HP-All-in-One-24-f0xx:~/Downloads/rtl8821ce$ nano Makefile