Thread: How do I get back from Ctrl-Alt-F1 ?

Beans

How do I get back from Ctrl-Alt-F1 ?

Ubuntu 18.04.02 (using it as desktop)

If my system freezes or hangs, and I know what's probably killing it (usually chrome, right), how can I kill it and then get back into the gui?

I know I can get Ctrl-Alt-F1 to get to drop out of the gui and I've been a developer for 20 years so I know how to run ps and killall etc.

My question is how do I get back into gui after Ctrl-Alt-F1? I don't want to start a new session I want the same session just switch me back to the desktop after I killed stuff.

I couldn't find the needle in the haystack when I google- everything I found about Ctrl-Alt-F1 (or f2,f3,f4, for multiple virtual terminals, etc), just told me how to restart the system and/or session after I drop to terminal. No, I want to stay in the the same session, just switch back to the GUI after I've killed chrome.

Thanks

d

ps does anyone else have the problem in this form field where you double click a word to select it and when you start typing it does nothing (doesn't start replacing the selected text? This is the only site that does that it's so annoying...

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

Re: How do I get back from Ctrl-Alt-F1 ?

Alt-F7 normally gets you back to the the GUI (assuming it's working and able to re-draw).

No problem with double-click and type to replace words here (i.e. in this reply). But that's with Firefox on Xubuntu.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

I have found there are times when ctrl+alt+f7 doesn't switch back to desktop, but in most of these occasions ctrl+alt+f8 works (it's as if it restarts using the next... I've not bothered looking at why, nor detected when/why it occurs as it's only rarely occurring..).