Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My savings using Linux

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

My savings using Linux

Writing this post got me to thinking: discussions about the advantages of Linux usually revolve around qualifiable concepts like its robustness, reliability, lack of malware, etc. So I thought it would be also be interesting to quantify how much I've saved using Linux over the years.

Here's how the math works out for me.

My household has three desktops, four laptops and four servers. For the OS alone, that's 11 seats x $250 per seat.
    Five of those machines run full suites of software: office, graphics, drafting, accounting, assorted apps and utilities. A conservative estimate for proprietary equivalents is $2,000 x 5 seats.

That's $12,750 on initial outlay.

I've been using Linux as my primary OS for 14 years. Assuming that, in the proprietary world, one would have to pay for upgrades every three years, and assuming that upgrades are about 40% the cost of the initial outlay. This results in the following:

14 years ÷ 3 ≈ 4 upgrade cycles (rounded down to integer value)

$12,750 x 4 x 40% ≈ $20,400

So, my software outlay in the proprietary world would have been ≈$33,000 over the years.

On the HW side, Linux has allowed me to continue using old HW that I would otherwise have had to replace a number of times by now (expecting Windows to run on my 12-yr-old laptops or workstation is just a bad joke). So, conservatively assuming only one replacement cycle in the last 14 years:

3 desktops ≈ $3,600
    4 laptops ≈ $4,000
    4 servers ≈ $6,000

Total HW ≈ $13,000
    Total SW ≈ $33,000

Grand total ≈ 45,000

Let's say I've grossly overstated things—I don't think I have—but let's be really conservative and reduce that by ⅓. That still leaves $30,000 of savings I didn't have to spend. The price of a nice car. Or a down payment on a house.