Thread: Freezing of Mouse in Ubuntu Mate 19.10

Beans

Freezing of Mouse in Ubuntu Mate 19.10

Hi to all

1. I am from India and quite new to Ubuntu
    2. I have been using Linux MINT - Mate Edition for many years now.
    3. I was facing system crashes in Linux MINT Mate 19.x due to the Open Source Driver for Nvidia Graphics (NOUVEAU) . Was not able to download proprietary Nvidia drivers for my graphics card, as I found it difficult for a layman like me. Since the machine was very old, I decided to buy a new one with non-Nvidia graphics, say Radeon or Intel.
    4. I recently purchased a New Computer with Asus Prime 450M-A motherboard and AMD Ryzen 3 220G with Radeon Vega Graphics
    5. Linux MINT (Mate) 19.x is based on Ubuntu 18.4.LTS and was having Linux Kernel 4.x . This kernel DOES NOT support my new computer's CPU/APU/GPU. Hence, tried to switch over to Ubuntu 19.10 Mate edition which has Linux Kernel 5.x series and support for my CPU/APU/GPU
    6. Now the PROBLEM - In this Ubuntu 19.10, I face mouse freeze quite often. Most of the times in Firefox. But freeze happens in many other applications like LibreOffice (Writer/calc/etc)
    7. Many people have reported such freeze of mouse (which gets released after a while automatically) in Forums. But their environments and mine do not match.
    8. Some people also have said that THERE IS A PROBLEM in Kernel 5.3.x and has been rectified in 5.4

HELP Required

I really do not know why the mouse freeze happens. My OS has the latest updates. Currently it shows the version as 5.3,0-23-generic. My Video driver shows as "amdgpu"

In order to help me, I am ready to provide output of relevant commands. Please let me know how I can copy/paste my screen in this Forum Post.

This Computer has 8 GB (4 x 2) DDR4 memory. Linux shows only 6 GB for it and 2 GB for graphics card. UEFI BIOS shows 8 GB. ( I found the split-up of 8GB as 6 plus 2 in Windows 10, which runs in another partition)

Regards
    G Balakrishnan
    India