Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Have NO internet! Can not get new wifi adapter [supposedly Linux-friendly] to work

Beans

Have NO internet! Can not get new wifi adapter [supposedly Linux-friendly] to work

I have installed an ASUS PCE-AC51. It uses a Realtek RTL8812AE chip. I found the newest linux driver for it and thought I built it correctly....but when I do an analysis on it [or more bluntly try to connect to the internet], I find I'm far, far from where I need to be. I'm NO expert in networking nor in building complex drivers [and this is complex!]. I see other threads somewhat related, but I do not find the answers I need on them. Would some kind person 'out there in Linux land' PLEASE help me through this. I need internet and am only contacting you now by using Windows which I detest and never use - with good reason. My very mean landlord cut off my LAN internet cable, as we are in Court over many issues. There is a strong enough wifi signal coming through my window from somewhere else, but I can NOT get this wifi adapter to work. HELP! Please! Thanks in advance.

I will try to post the last diagnostic information I have, if it tells you anything....I only get a few hints that the computer knows what I know....it is not working [but WHY, I don't know - nor what I would have to do to make it work].

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/4Nf7fzbgbd/ my diagnostic information!!!!
    Last edited by Frogs Hair; November 16th, 2019 at 07:24 PM. Reason: Language

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Have NO internet! Can not get new wifi adapter [supposedly Linux-friendly] to wor