Thread: Installed 19.10 on Sony VAIO E-series. Operating system not found on boot.

Beans

Question Installed 19.10 on Sony VAIO E-series. Operating system not found on boot.

Hi there,

I am pretty new to Ubuntu (used it about 10 years ago) and I am trying to install it on my Sony VAIO E-series laptop.

I created a bootable USB using Rufus and the 19.10 ISO. I was unable to boot it in UEFI mode so I changed my BIOS to Legacy and it booted. I went through the installer and was successful. But now, upon restarting, I get a message saying there is no operating system. I have searched all over the internet to try and figure this out but I am thinking this might be a VAIO specific problem.

I can boot into Windows only when I set the BIOS back to UEFI.

Is this problem to do with installing using the Legacy BIOS? As far as I know, my partitions were all fine. I had a 'biosgrub' partition and also a boot partition where I chose to install the boot files. Then a main partition mounted to /.

My husband who is experienced with Linux can't even figure out where we've gone wrong.

I have disabled fast startup in Windows (I have no idea how that affects things but it was a suggestion I saw).

If anyone has any suggestions for me, please please help. I hate Windows 10 and I am super keen to get Ubuntu running. My laptop is a bit old - probably 5 years - but it's pretty good in terms of specs.

Beans

Re: Installed 19.10 on Sony VAIO E-series. Operating system not found on boot.

I had a 'biosgrub' partition and also a boot partition where I chose to install the boot files. Then a main partition mounted to /.