Thread: how do I customize the 'Start Menu' in Lubuntu?

Beans

how do I customize the 'Start Menu' in Lubuntu?

Hi

I am completely new to Linux, and am using Lubuntu 19.04.

I've been searching endlessly to figure out how to update the 'start' menu, similar to in Windows. I have searched and searched, and cannot seem to find anything that tells me how to modify (customize) the 'start menu'.

For instance, under "Other", lists "Software" and "MS Office FrontPage" (which I figured out how to install via Wine). How do I get "MS Office FrontPage" listed under "Office"? (don't judge, my website is simple enough to still be able to use FrontPage!)

How do I remove "Software" from this "Other" menu, since the same "Software" is also listed under "Preferences"?

Thanks for your help. If this has already been mentioned elsewhere in this forum, please link me to it...

Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: how do I customize the 'Start Menu' in Lubuntu?

The easiest option for common (or favorite) applications is using the Quick Launch bar on your panel. For details on using this, I'll suggest the Lubuntu manual, ie. https://manual.lubuntu.me/stable/5/5...quick%20launch

Currently there isn't a LXQt menu editor, though it's been suggested before (https://github.com/lxqt/lxqt/issues/255)

When I was new to GNU/Linux I too wanted to make minor changes to the menu system, but have since decided it wasn't worth it (they can get overwritten with added/removed software or updates, and make release-upgrading more of a hassle, esp. significant with your 19.04 since it's more ~70% through it's support cycle). I forget where the menu is stored, but when/if I remember I'll return...

Beans

Is LXQt so different from other desktops used in Ubuntu flavours that it's not generating its menus from .desktop-files ?