Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ”Activation generator failed” when updating to newest Ubuntu

Beans

Question ”Activation generator failed” when updating to newest Ubuntu

Like the title says. I can’t do anything. Nothing works. I havn’t tried to restart my laptop yet. I’m not good with computers and I don’t understand what this means. It just was updating and then this happened. Help, anyone? Thanks. (Sorry abou gigantic photo)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Frogs Hair; 4 Weeks Ago at 03:21 PM. Reason: Image

Beans

Re: ”Activation generator failed” when updating to newest Ubuntu

Update: So I restart my laptop and now theres just a black screen and nothing is happening.

Beans

Anyone can help?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

That looks bad. I'm sorry, I have no idea how to fix that. I found a suggestion (using google) to run an apt reinstall --force command, but of course you can't do that if it wont even boot.
    If it was me, I'd install from scratch and restore my user data from backups.

If no backups, I would be setting about booting the installer USB and using its try-before mode to mount the disks and copy my data off to a backup disk before doing a new install.

Beans

Sorry for be a noob but how can I restore my user data from backups? If I even have any...

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by zaragendon View Post
    Sorry for be a noob but how can I restore my user data from backups? If I even have any...
    Anyone can help me on this?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

This is going to be challenging. Let's see if we can rescue your data, first.

Do you have a means to make either a live CD or a live USB thumb drive? Also, have you used Linux much before, and do you know how to use the command line?

Finally, do you have access to a USB hard drive or a large USB thumb drive? You need some place to put your data when and if you can recover it.

Beans