Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Beans
    3

    Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    I recently switched from windows to Ubuntu and not able to use tp link adapter

    Code:
    >lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0a5c:216c Broadcom Corp. BCM43142A0 Bluetooth Device
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 138a:0050 Validity Sensors, Inc. Swipe Fingerprint Sensor
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05c8:036e Cheng Uei Precision Industry Co., Ltd (Foxlink) Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:8000 Intel Corp. 
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 008: ID 093a:2532 Pixart Imaging, Inc. 
    Bus 002 Device 011: ID 2357:011f  
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 413c:2113 Dell Computer Corp. 
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    I also tried steps mentioned in
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....8#post13787798

    but even after doing everything and rebooting the system adapter doesn't seem working.


    Code:
    > lsb_release -a
    
    No LSB modules are available.
    Distributor ID:    Ubuntu
    Description:    Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS
    Release:    18.04
    Codename:    bionic
    The adapter is named as
    TP-Link Archer T2U AC600 Wireless Wi-Fi Dual Band USB Adapter on Amazon.

    after trying multiple askubuntu posts and articles and getting frustrated on tplink for not providing good support for this! I decided to post here for help.
    Its disheartening why the official website has video guide for windows and mac but not for linux.
    Please help me
    Thanks for your time.
    Last edited by DuckHook; December 2nd, 2019 at 08:23 AM. Reason: Added adapter full name

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    7,913
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    Try this one
    Code:
    sudo apt install git dkms build-essential
    git clone https://github.com/jeremyb31/rtl8812au-1.git
    cd rtl8812au-1
    sudo ./dkms-install.sh
    From here: https://askubuntu.com/questions/1149...r-ubuntu-18-04

    First uninstall the other one

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Beans
    3

    Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    I tried that too since that comes first in the google search. Didn't work.
    Moreover, it says T2U with ID 2357:011e

    However as you can see above for mine it is
    Bus 002 Device 011: ID 2357:011f
    f instead of e
    Last edited by darwinclown; October 29th, 2019 at 03:24 AM. Reason: mentioning the difference between suggested one and mine

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    9,284
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    Code:
    cd rtl8812au-1
    sudo ./dkms-remove.sh
    git pull
    sudo ./dkms-install.sh
    Reboot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Beans
    3

    Smile Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    Its working now.

    Thank you so much

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Beans
    1

    Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    thank jeremy31, work perfect Device AC600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter Archer T2U in S.O Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
    Last edited by waltdom; December 9th, 2019 at 11:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Beans
    1

    Red face Re: Not able to install driver for TP link Archer T2u on Ubuntu 18.04

    Quote Originally Posted by praseodym View Post
    Try this one
    Code:
    sudo apt install git dkms build-essential
    git clone https://github.com/jeremyb31/rtl8812au-1.git
    cd rtl8812au-1
    sudo ./dkms-install.sh
    From here: https://askubuntu.com/questions/1149...r-ubuntu-18-04

    First uninstall the other one
    Thanks Praseodym, just moved house now I am completely free of ethernet cables!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •