Thread: Samba or ?? (Switching from Windows to Ubuntu, incl. Active Directory)

Beans

Question Samba or ?? (Switching from Windows to Ubuntu, incl. Active Directory)

I want to ditch Windows entirely, replacing servers with Ubuntu and workstations with Ubuntu and Mint. I currently run Windows Server 2012 R2 with Active Directory (AD) with all the bells 'n whistles.

According to my reading, Samba seems to be the logical choice to build a single-server domain controller. The Samba installation guide says DNS is included, but I see no mention of DHCP. Would I have install DHCP myself and, if so, before or after installing Samba? I'll be adding a time service to my sever as well, sync'ing to NIST nightly; I assume that's not part of Samba either?

I'm a senior security developer for a large aerospace company and I know AD inside 'n out. I build my own PCs & network, manage DNS, DHCP, etc. just fine on Windows, so just need a little advice and confirmation from some Ubuntu AD SMEs.

Many thanks in advance

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Samba or ?? (Switching from Windows to Ubuntu, incl. Active Directory)

Quote Originally Posted by SiliconDragon View Post
    …I'm a senior security developer for a large aerospace company…
    Thread moved to Server Platforms as the more appropriate forum.

I'm no server guru, so will leave the suggestions/recommendations to those who are. As a seasoned IT pro, I assume you are aware of how big a project this is…

A migration of this magnitude is not for the faint of heart.

The only item I'm only remotely qualified to comment on is the network time issue. The following may help: https://help.ubuntu.com/lts/serverguide/NTP.html

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

have a look at the Zentyal project (Ubuntu based). OpenLDAP can be used insetad of AD.

or Nethserver (CentOS based).
    Read the easy to understand, lots of pics Ubuntu manual.