Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu 18.04 Freezing Up Issue - Log Interpretation

Beans

Ubuntu 18.04 Freezing Up Issue - Log Interpretation

Dear All,

After installing Ubuntu on a desktop PC (AMD® Ryzen 5 2400g processor; graphics: AMD® Raven; 64-bit; 250 GB SSD) it would crash few hours into browsing and streaming. Things got better after upgrades were installed. Still it would occasionally happen, but a lot less frequently. In the last few days I haven't had a crash even when the computer was left on for few days (knock on wood). I saved the Logs info from my last crash (I attached two .txt files: "All" logs: 2109-10-03_10pm_crash_All_logs.txt and a shorter list "Important" logs: 2109-10-03_10pm_crash_Important_Logs.txt . I was wondering if any of you could have a look at it and tell me if I should be concern about something. I'm completely new to Linux and programming but I decided to challenge myself and learn computers via Linux. Understanding those logs is important for me regardless if the problem prevails or not.

Sincerely,
    Mike
    Last edited by michael-bielesky; 1 Week Ago at 01:59 AM.

Beans

Re: Ubuntu 18.04 Freezing Up Issue - Log Interpretation

Unfortunately, it froze up on me again while I was just browsing on the net. Are there any utilities that could help me determine the source of the problem?

Mike

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Quote Originally Posted by michael-bielesky View Post
    Ryzen 5 2400g
    The support for the Raven Ridge APUs wasn't done in time to be put into the 18.04 release. You could try using one of the PPAs that gives a newer Mesa stack, or one of the newer Ubuntu releases, and see if that helps.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

Beans

Thanks CatKiller. I followed your suggestions an upgraded to Mesa 19.08 which I believe is the newest version out there. In case it does not help, will getting a Ryzen chip without an integrated graphics solve the instability problem?

Mike

Beans