Thread: lubuntu 11.10 installer hangs while installing it on ibm thinkpad t21

Beans

lubuntu 11.10 installer hangs while installing it on ibm thinkpad t21

Hi people

i have an old IBM thinkpad t21 computer with 512 mb of ram and 10gb of hdd. I want to install lubuntu 11.10 because it is the last version of lubuntu to support s3 savage xi graphics and infrared port. When i made the usb and started installing it via usb, it showed up the installation screen but when i clicked install lubuntu without trying, the installer just hangs. Do anyone know how to fix this problem. (FYI i am new to Linux)

Thanks & Regards
    Last edited by mg7134; September 14th, 2019 at 05:02 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: lubuntu 11.10 installer hangs while installing it on ibm thinkpad t21

Lubuntu 11.10 was the 2011-October release of Lubuntu, it came with 15 month of supported life, which is now well since gone. I wouldn't suggest using it online!

Did you verify your download of the ISO? (https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutoria...erify-ubuntu#0) then use the 'check disc for defects' option to verify your write-to-install-media (which I'm guessing is a cdr?). The option I mean can be seen on the first picture of https://manual.lubuntu.me/1/1.3/installation.html (current Lubuntu manual)
    ps: your screen will differ from this; I stole this screen from current manual

The most common reason for what you describe in my experience is a bad download, or bad write to install-media, so it's where I'd check. It's not the only problem (graphics can be next) - but squashfs errors are what first come to mind with your issue.

If you can't verify the media on that box; use another box to verify media as being perfect.

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Why don't you try 18.04, maybe with xforcevesa and nomodeset?

Older versions aren't supported anymore.

Beans