Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Beans
    8

    TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    Hi Ubuntu guys need some help with this wireless adapter. I have searched and searched google and tried with friend to get this to work and can't seem too

    If anybody has this wireless adapter and has it working please let me know or if you know how?


    • TP-Link |1300Mbps USB Wifi Adapter | Dual Band MU-MIMO Wireless Network Dongle with Foldable High Gain Antenna for PC | Works with Windows and Mac OS (Archer T4U V3

    https://www.tp-link.com/us/home-netw...er/archer-t4u/


    I tried getting the linux file from them and also from github and tried to complie with

    HTML Code:
    make
    it spits out error. here's the error

    HTML Code:
    make ARCH=x86_64 CROSS_COMPILE= -C /lib/modules/5.2.11-050211-generic/build M=/home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu modules
    make[1]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-5.2.11-050211-generic'
      CC [M]  /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.o
    In file included from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service.h:41:0,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/drv_types.h:32,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
    /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service_linux.h: In function ‘_init_timer’:
    /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service_linux.h:257:8: error: ‘_timer {aka struct timer_list}’ has no memb
    er named ‘data’
      ptimer->data = (unsigned long)cntx;
            ^~
    /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service_linux.h:258:2: error: implicit declaration of function ‘init_timer
    ’; did you mean ‘_init_timer’? [-Werror=implicit-function-declaration]
      init_timer(ptimer);
      ^~~~~~~~~~
      _init_timer
    In file included from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/drv_types.h:35:0,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
    /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/wifi.h: At top level:
    /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/wifi.h:1005:0: warning: "IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF" redefined
     #define IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF 0x40
      
    In file included from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service_linux.h:84:0,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/osdep_service.h:41,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/include/drv_types.h:32,
                     from /home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.c:22:
    ./include/linux/ieee80211.h:1441:0: note: this is the location of the previous definition
     #define IEEE80211_MAX_AMPDU_BUF  0x100
      
    cc1: some warnings being treated as errors
    scripts/Makefile.build:278: recipe for target '/home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.o' failed
    make[2]: *** [/home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu/core/rtw_cmd.o] Error 1
    Makefile:1603: recipe for target '_module_/home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu' failed
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/tj/Downloads/rtl8822bu] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-5.2.11-050211-generic'
    Makefile:1318: recipe for target 'modules' failed
    make: *** [modules] Error 2


    Anybody can help me install this ? Thank you
    Last edited by madscintist; 6 Days Ago at 03:40 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    7,878
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    Post results for
    Code:
    lsusb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Beans
    8

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    here you go. Thanks for reply

    Code:
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 003: ID 1a2c:b51f China Resource Semico Co., Ltd  
    Bus 005 Device 002: ID 1532:0c00 Razer USA, Ltd  
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 007: ID 152d:1561 JMicron Technology Corp. / JMicron USA Technology Corp.  
    Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2516:1011   
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 004: ID 258a:1007   
    Bus 003 Device 005: ID 2357:0115   
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:082d Logitech, Inc. HD Pro Webcam C920
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    
    The tplink is this one
    Code:
    Bus 003 Device 005: ID 2357:0115

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Beans
    8

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    Quote Originally Posted by pcfan1234 View Post
    i tried that and gave me the error. I posted at the top

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu 19.04 Disco Dingo

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    This compiles on my 5.0-xx kernel. I don't know about your non-standard 5.2.11-xx. You'll have to try it and tell us: https://github.com/jeremyb31/rtl8822bu
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Beans
    8

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    This compiles on my 5.0-xx kernel. I don't know about your non-standard 5.2.11-xx. You'll have to try it and tell us: https://github.com/jeremyb31/rtl8822bu
    I tired it @chli555 and got that error up top with 5.2 kernel? is there something i have to do extra

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu 19.04 Disco Dingo

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    Quote Originally Posted by madscintist View Post
    I tired it @chli555 and got that error up top with 5.2 kernel? is there something i have to do extra
    Either go back to a 5.0 kernel or ask @jeremy31 to try to fix it. https://ubuntuforums.org/private.php?do=newpm&u=1924242
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Beans
    8

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    isn''t there way to fix it using dkms? build for newer kernel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    7,878
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: TP-Link AC1300 Archer T4U V3 (Can't get to work in linux)

    The source code would need to be patched to support 5.2 for even dkms to work. Right now I don't have the time to figure out what changed in 5.2 that is causing the issues

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •