Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Beans
    3

    How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    I configured the BIOS with a (fake-raid) 5-disk RAID5 config.
    The installed Ubuntu on two Dell desktop servers specifying to use fake raid and entering exactly the same config as in the BIOS.

    Now I am not sure whether we are running mdadm or dmraid and not sure how to tell. They both seem to list the disks.

    Any help much appreciated as I have to debug a problem with it and not even sure which one I am working with here.
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# dmraid -l
    asr     : Adaptec HostRAID ASR (0,1,10)
    ddf1    : SNIA DDF1 (0,1,4,5,linear)
    hpt37x  : Highpoint HPT37X (S,0,1,10,01)
    hpt45x  : Highpoint HPT45X (S,0,1,10)
    isw     : Intel Software RAID (0,1,5,01)
    jmicron : JMicron ATARAID (S,0,1)
    lsi     : LSI Logic MegaRAID (0,1,10)
    nvidia  : NVidia RAID (S,0,1,10,5)
    pdc     : Promise FastTrack (S,0,1,10)
    sil     : Silicon Image(tm) Medley(tm) (0,1,10)
    via     : VIA Software RAID (S,0,1,10)
    dos     : DOS partitions on SW RAIDs
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# dmraid -s
    *** Group superset isw_cagejhggbf
    --> Subset
    name   : isw_cagejhggbf_Volume0
    size   : 14846582784
    stride : 128
    type   : raid5_la
    status : ok
    subsets: 0
    devs   : 5
    spares : 0
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# dmraid -r
    /dev/sda: isw, "isw_cagejhggbf", GROUP, ok, 3907029166 sectors, data@ 0
    /dev/sdc: isw, "isw_cagejhggbf", GROUP, ok, 3907029166 sectors, data@ 0
    /dev/sde: isw, "isw_cagejhggbf", GROUP, ok, 3907029166 sectors, data@ 0
    /dev/sdb: isw, "isw_cagejhggbf", GROUP, ok, 3907029166 sectors, data@ 0
    /dev/sdd: isw, "isw_cagejhggbf", GROUP, ok, 3907029166 sectors, data@ 0
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# dmraid -s -s isw_cagejhggbf
    ERROR: either the required RAID set not found or more options required
    no raid sets and with names: "isw_cagejhggbf"
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# cat /proc/mdstat 
    Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [linear] [multipath] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] 
    md126 : active raid5 sda[4] sdb[3] sdc[2] sdd[1] sde[0]
          7423287296 blocks super external:/md127/0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 0 [5/5] [UUUUU]
          
    md127 : inactive sdd[4](S) sdc[3](S) sdb[2](S) sda[1](S) sde[0](S)
          26005 blocks super external:imsm
           
    unused devices: <none>
    Code:
    root@mg2:/home/gough# mdadm --detail /dev/md126
    /dev/md126:
             Container : /dev/md/imsm0, member 0
            Raid Level : raid5
            Array Size : 7423287296 (7079.40 GiB 7601.45 GB)
         Used Dev Size : 1855821824 (1769.85 GiB 1900.36 GB)
          Raid Devices : 5
         Total Devices : 5
    
    
                 State : active 
        Active Devices : 5
       Working Devices : 5
        Failed Devices : 0
         Spare Devices : 0
    
    
                Layout : left-asymmetric
            Chunk Size : 64K

    Consistency Policy : resync
    Code:
                  UUID : 1460e363:36bb479d:6caeffc6:a5ffe2ef
        Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
           4       8        0        0      active sync   /dev/sda
           3       8       16        1      active sync   /dev/sdb
           2       8       32        2      active sync   /dev/sdc
           1       8       48        3      active sync   /dev/sdd
           0       8       64        4      active sync   /dev/sde
    Last edited by deadflowr; 1 Week Ago at 05:38 PM. Reason: code tags

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    Try:
    Code:
    sudo dmraid -s
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    17,096
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    I thought dmraid was deprecated a few LTS releases ago. https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...m/+bug/1028677 says that mdadm has been used on new installs since 14.04.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    It's still going, and some devices need it.
    dmraid uses the Linux device-mapper to create devices with respective
    mappings for the ATARAID sets discovered.
    .
    The following formats are supported:
    • Highpoint HPT37X/HPT45X
    • Intel Software RAID
    • LSI Logic MegaRAID
    • NVidia NForce RAID (nvraid)
    • Promise FastTrack
    • Silicon Image(tm) Medley(tm)
    • VIA Software RAID

    .
    ***Please read the documentation in /usr/share/doc/dmraid BEFORE attempting***
    any use of this software. Improper use can cause data loss!
    https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/bionic/....rc16-8ubuntu1
    And: http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/.../dmraid.8.html
    I agree though I like to use "mdadm" for my set-up's.
    Last edited by 1fallen; 1 Week Ago at 03:25 AM.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Beans
    3

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    Thanks 1fallen, I already posted the dmraid -s output
    My problem is interpreting it as both dmraid and mdadm seem to be reporting positively (with the exception of dmraid -s -s isw_cagejhggbf)

    ... so I can't tell which one is actually controlling the volume before I go and start messing with it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Beans
    3

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    I am wondering, is it possible I somehow accidentally set up both, and they are interfering with each other?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to tell if I am running dmraid?

    Quote Originally Posted by mogrify2 View Post
    Thanks 1fallen, I already posted the dmraid -s output
    So you did, If stuff isn't in code tags I really don't bother reading a lot.
    Not trying to sound rude or harsh, but code tags are very important here.

    For raid5 you need the dm-raid module, but not for a raid0.

    FYI, unless you are dual booting with Windows you should use conventional linux md raid rather than fake/dmraid, as md is far better supported and properly handles failures and reshapes, which fakeraid does not.

    If you want to boot an IMSM/ISW raid with dmraid and without mdadm, you still have to install the mdadm package in a kickstart minimal install and have to specify "noiswmd" or "rd_NO_MDIMSM" on the kernel command line.+When booting an IMSM/ISW RAID with dmraid but without mdadm, the mdadm package still needs to be installed on the system in a kickstart minimal install with the "noiswmd" or "rd_NO_MDIMSM" parameters specified.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •