Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: what i would like to do with ubuntu server - need pointers

Beans

what i would like to do with ubuntu server - need pointers

All,

absolute newbie here. I have installed 19.04 server on an older desktop with the intention of using it as a file server for my windows computers. win 10 is being a pain about networking and seeing attached computers on the network. I have an 8 drive disk box attached via usb3.0 to a windows computer. I want to take that 8 drive box and attach it to the ubuntu server desktop and have access to all disks/partitions via windows on all my other computers (only on my home network, not across the internet).

I installed FTP and NFS on unbutu. but I have no idea where to go from here. if someone could point me to books, youtube tutorials or just provide direction, it would be appreciated.

thanks
    john w zerkel

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: what i would like to do with ubuntu server - need pointers

Lots of opinions follow. Hopefully, some other people will chime in with theirs so you can pick and choose the different parts that make the most sense.

First, as someone new, you don't want 19.04. Support for that release ends in December. You want 18.04, which has 5 yrs of standard support - 2023. Stay with LTS releases for servers unless you have a very specific requirement. Newer isn't always better. 18.04 and 16.04 are LTS releases. Most of my systems are on 16.04, which has free standard support until April of 2021.

Second, Linux uses different file systems than Windows. While it can read NTFS storage, there are multiple problems doing that since it doesn't natively support it. Performance will be less, standard Unix permissions aren't honored, and server-style storage management cannot be used. So you have to decide how you will either migrate to a Linux storage solution software stack or live with all the issues that using NTFS forced onto the server.