Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why are you a active forum member

Hybrid View

Beans

Why are you a active forum member

I guess I could lie and say thats its all about helping others, but it not. At least not my #1 reason. By helping others I help myself by keeping my linux knowledge base up to date. I took a 6 month break from the forum and was surprised how rusty I was when I returned. The forum for me is good for both the people I help and myself

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Why are you a active forum member

I'm using the forums to learn more about my OS but I'm helping others as I can even it's been a while since I made support

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Well -

I came to the forum years back in order to learn.
    Here it is now and I am still learning, and helping where I can

'buntu
    we are all in this together
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

Happy ubuntu'n !

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by cruzer001 View Post
    I guess I could lie and say thats its all about helping others, but it not. At least not my #1 reason. By helping others I help myself by keeping my linux knowledge base up to date. I took a 6 month break from the forum and was surprised how rusty I was when I returned. The forum for me is good for both the people I help and myself
    There are many reasons.

1. The people here are interested in the same thing I am. Linux. Many of the Forums users aren't even Ubuntu users, but because most distributions work in similar ways, they like to hang out to discuss Linux and help those who need it.

2. This is probably the most knowledgeable forum on the internet, save for mabye Mensa.

3. It's a great feeling when you CAN help someone with an issue, and contribute back to the Linux community.
    Holy Cripes on Toast!
    Attention is the currency of internet forums. - ticopelp

Beans