Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to write/delete NTFS files from LIVE?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Talking How to write/delete NTFS files from LIVE?

I am extremely new to ubuntu. I have used it several time throughout the years, but never mastered it so please someone help a newbie out.
    If possible some step by step guide so i can follow it. I cant even install my keyboard layout so i cant find most of the punctuation, sorry about that.

Recently my windows crashed and i cant get it back i need to install a new one. The problem is, i need to move and delete some files from the C: folder where i plan on installing windows, but i cant delete or move them to another ntfs partition. I can mount the drives but i cant write a new folder or anything on NTFS nor can i delete anything.

I tried searching the net but i dont understand any of it and most of them use the installed ubuntu version. I am on live USB. Some say to chown the drive, but how do i do that from the live USB? There is no user or password. Others mention ntfsfix but that did nothing either.

What do i do?
    I have some important files to move, otherwise i would just format the drive entirely and get it over with...

I am using ubuntu 18.04.

Thank you for your help!
    Last edited by gordan-vrbanec-vepar; July 11th, 2019 at 04:27 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: How to write/delete NTFS files from LIVE?

Windows problems should be fixed using Windows.

You cannot chown NTFS file systems without doing some advanced mapping. Mount options control the normal Unix permissions for NTFS and other non-Linux file system types.

If you want to wipe Windows and using Ubuntu, we can help, but to fix Windows issues, using Windows it the best method.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

But my only option using windows is formatting the disk and losing my data. I tried all the recovery options and none of them worked...