Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 70

Thread: Boot up trouble

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Boot up trouble

    If you mount in /mnt you have to drill down to / & back up to /mnt.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    445

    Re: Boot up trouble

    I went ahead "anyway".

    mount needed a sudo but that's o.k.

    And yes, according to Disks, the drive is now mounted.

    Thinking "copy the files", I tried Files anyway. And it gave me no file access.

    :Alas, here we go again:

    Code:
    sudo apt install testdisk
    was unable to locate the package.

    And, just to add to my frustration, Files reports "mnt" is empty.Even though Disks says it's "Mounted at /mnt".

    I take if you mean to use either:

    Code:
    sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sdb1
    # -y auto answers yes for fixes needing response, also see man e2fsck
    
    or
    
    sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sdb1
    Yes? Or perhaps both? In that order?

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot up trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by pencuse View Post
    Grub can read ISO images from harddisk, and boot them. Thus no need for USB stick or whatever to install or start a Linux distro for debugging. You can save the ISO image of any of such Linux distro into a partition Grub can read and add an entry for this ISO. An example Grub menu entry you can add into your /boot/grub/grub.cfg:
    Code:
    menuentry "Some Ubuntu ISO" {
            set isofile="/<directory>/Ubuntu.iso"
            loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile
            linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz.efi boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject
            initrd (loop)/casper/initrd
    }
    The menu entry above assumes that your ISO is located in /dev/sda5 ( hd0,5 ). You can change this according to your wishes.

    The example is from here.

    With loopback loop command above, you can even look inside of an ISO interactively in Grub interactive prompt.
    This doesn't work with Secure Boot. See this.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Boot up trouble

    My original post was an example that used sdb1 and said to use all your ext4 partitions.
    Your partition that seems like it should be ext4 was sda6, so you have to run fsck on sda6.

    Most suggest a general fsck command, but if it starts asking for y or yes and you have many files pressing y can be a pain. The two commands are one that will not ask for y and another that then automatically says yes.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    445

    Re: Boot up trouble

    To pencuse.

    Sorry but I am just a bit confused. This thread started with me complaining that booting up always, and only, had me receiving a "GRUB RESCUE" response. So I don't believe I can "Grub" anything.

    As for the ISO file, I don't believe I have an ISO on the problem HD. And I have to wonder why you think I do.

    What I do have is about 250,000 files on the drive that Disk Usage and Properties tell me about with, as yet, no way to access them.

    To oldfred

    Thanks for the feedback. You didn't seem to choose between the two commands. And I'm not able to. So I'll give the first one a whirl and see what gives.

    Not sure what it might give me but I'll report whatever I can find.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Boot up trouble

    These are two different fsck command as they use different parameters over the generic fsck.
    See
    man fsck

    Then you may need repairs:
    sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sda6
    # -y auto answers yes for fixes needing response, also see man e2fsck
    sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sda6
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    445

    Re: Boot up trouble

    Well so much for that.

    I've run both commands - both with the same result:

    "/dev/sda6 is mounted.
    e2fsck: Cannot continue, aborting."

    Alas, so, the beat goes on ...

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Boot up trouble

    You have to unmount sda6 to run fsck.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    445

    Re: Boot up trouble

    I suppose you would have expected me to have more trouble. And, unfortunately, you'd have been right!

    Attempt to unmount results in:

    "Command 'unmount' not found, did you mean:

    command 'unmount' from deb mount

    Try: sudo apy install <deb name>

    I'd be happy to, if I knew what "<deb name>" was ...

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    445

    Re: Boot up trouble

    Remedial typing needed too.

    sudo apt install, NOT sudo apy install

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •