Thread: Downgrading Ubuntu (uninstall vs. override)

Beans

Downgrading Ubuntu (uninstall vs. override)

I'm new to Ubuntu, i recently installed the experimental version (19.04) rather than the LTS version.
    I performed a dual installation, so i still have Windows 10 on my PC.

I'm supposed to be running a fair amount of programs that are not yet compatible with Ubuntu 19.04; is there a way for me to downgrade my Ubuntu version?
    A peer of mine suggested re-running the dual installation process (as i did initially) but with Ubuntu 18.04, mentioning that it may be possible to overwrite the hard drive space that's been allocated for Ubuntu 19.04 rather than an actual uninstallation process.

Does anyone have experience changing or uninstalling Ubuntu versions?

Thanks in advance!

Beans

Re: Downgrading Ubuntu (uninstall vs. override)

Maybe this is what you want?

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....2#post13277932

As far as I know, that still applies. I do not use the live installer.
    Having windows backed up is always a good idea when doing major changes.

I have not seen much going on with software compatibility problems. What software is this?

Edit
    The live installer also (use to) have a option to install over the existing install.
    Last edited by cruzer001; June 5th, 2019 at 07:08 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

The info in that link to an old thread is still more or less correct but there are two comments I will make.

• First, and perhaps obvious to you, but the numbered .partitions mentioned will probably not exist on your machine.